The Double Phoenix

  • What I’m Reading:

    In progress: Cyador's Heirs by L.E. Modesitt, Jr.

    Listening to: The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon.

  • April 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar    
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,574 hits
  • Meta

The Blood Runs Like a River through My Dreams

Posted by spragujs on April 22, 2012

The Blood Runs Like a River through My Dreams cover artThis book was written by a guy going by the pen name of Nasdijj.  It was actually marketed as a memoir and apparently really wasn’t.  However, if one reads the book as though it were fiction, it’s a compelling read.  The author likes to string together similes and metaphors, but in spite of the fact that I agree with this article’s author about such writing (see in particular the Blood Meridian description), these strings did manage to provoke some very vibrant imagery in my head.

The book itself is about a half Indian (Native American to either be PC and/or to avoid confusion) who’s had a very different life than I.  He was born with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and as such has a very hard time reading and writing, he adopts a son who dies from the same condition, he went through childhood as part of a migrant family, he’s been homeless, he tells of life on the reservation, and gives a glimpse of what life might be like for those who leave the reservation.  It brings some awareness to the lost history that is generally not taught in public school, and the oppression and loss suffered by the Indians.

I obviously do not know the truth (or potential truth) behind the stories in this book, but in my opinion, if this book can enlighten folks who don’t know any better (like me), then it is worth the read despite the falsehood in marketing.  I’d guess the main issue in this case would be that “Nasdijj” made money this way, though not from me, as my copy was an ARC I picked up at a bookstore back in 2000!

One Response to “The Blood Runs Like a River through My Dreams”

  1. ~ap~ said

    Sounds like an interesting book but I’m just struck by how gorgeous the cover is.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

